Cooden Beach Draw

This month we visit an MGS favourite the Cooden Beach Golf Club.  The course was designed by W. Herbert Fowler and opened in 1912 and remains an enjoyable yet challenging test to all categories of player.

While the course measures a good 6,504 yards at its furthest, it offers a more sedate 6,185 yards from the yellow tee boxes, with five par three holes and a matching five par fives. It provides an easy walk round with the gentle undulations and springy turf making play enjoyable for all ages.

Club Details

Details of the venue at

Cooden Sea Road
Bexhill On Sea
East Sussex
TN39 4TR

01424 842040

Date:          Friday 21 July 2017
Time:         12:30 for first tee off 13:30
Format:      Tea/coffee + bacon rolls on arrival followed by a two course evening meal.
Dress:         NB: Smart casual for the evening meal.

Four competitions to be played for as follows:-

Individual Stableford

18 hole competition off full society handicaps.

Team Stableford

The best 2 from 3 stableford scores count in this 18 hole competition. 

Nearest The Pin

Our Hon Sec in conjunction with the club pro has selected the 12th a delightful par 3 bordering the boundary road to the beach. Many a stray ball has ended up in or over the road from the tee as players grapple with the right to left crosswind but the hole fascinates with water running the length of the hole on the right and out of bounds on the left.

Longest Drive  

Again our Hon Sec in conjunction with the club pro has selected the 18th a superb finishing hole. A par 5 which downwind offers an excellent chance of birdie. The tee shot is downhill with no immediate hazards coming into play and a well-placed drive can leave a long second shot into the green.

Order of Play

Firstly, a warm welcome to two potentially new society members Sandy Hoolahan (lady, handicap 13) and Margaret Cudmore (lady, handicap 19).  

Tee times start at 1.30pm.  We have 21 confirmed players – please be at the tee and ready to go 5 mins before your tee time.  Please avoid slow play at all time.

Tee Time Player 1 Player 2 Player 3
1.30 Alan Bigley (9) David Howroyd (19) Tony Batchelder (27)
1.38 Sandy Hoolahan (13) Micky Mann (14) Peter Cudmore (24)
1.46 Carl Valentine (9) Pat Layen (16) Kelvin Patterson (25)
1.54 Jerry Watkiss (16) Margaret Cudmore (19) Clive Butler (21)
2.02 Paul Hillman (18) Ken Wapling (23) Roger Todd (28)
2.10 Dereck Coppard (19) Tom Bennett (19) Brian Day (23)
2.18 Barry Browning (18) Tim Gorringe (22) Brian Cheesmur (28)



Past news