MGS Cooden Beach GC – August 2023 

The weather forecast looks excellent for Thursday which is good news in an August that has seen more showers than sun.  

A very pleasing turnout of 27 this month with a number of regulars unavailable due to holidays and other commitments etc.  A warm welcome to guests Nigel Caufield-Brown, Derrick Omston and Pete Smith on taster day with the society. We look forward to seeing you on THURSDAY at a society favorite down by the sea.

Our venue is Cooden Beach Golf Club where the course measures a good 6,504 yards at its furthest, it offers a more sedate 6,185 yards from the yellow tee boxes, with five par three holes and a matching five par fives. Natural drainage is provided by internal and external dykes that border many of the holes, but these also act as a magnet to the errant shot that flirts with the changing coastal breezes which remain the true hazard.

Venue:   Cooden Beach Golf Club, Sea Road, Bexhill On Sea, East Sussex, TN39 4TR

T: 01424 842040                E:

Time:   11am for 12 noon first tee off
Format:  Tea/coffee + bacon rolls on arrival, followed by an 18 Hole Strokeplay competition, followed by a one course meal and presentation of prizes. 
Dress for meal:    Smart Casual

Mayfield Cup

A new trophy for this season very kindly donated to the club by John Miller & Stuart Bourne.  Thank you guys. This is an 18-hole stableford competition off full society handicaps.

NB: This is a Trophy event so please putt out – no gimmies !!!

Team Competition

The best 2 stableford scores from the teams of 3 count for this competition.  Usual adjustment for teams of four.

Nearest the PIN in two  – 5th Hole

Nearest the PIN in one – 12th Hole  

Order of play

Tee times start at 12 noon – please be at the tee and ready to go 5 mins before your tee off time.  Please keep up with the team in front and not aim to be just ahead of the group behind – Please do avoid slow play at all times – we should complete our rounds comfortably within 4½ hours

Tee-timePlayer 1Player 2Player 3 
12.00Jerry Watkiss (16)Andy Williams (18)Chris Buck (21)Player 4
12.08Rod Lunn (19)David Howroyd (20)John Collingwood (27)Stuart Bourne (12)
12.16Peter Cudmore (24)Graham Smith (10)Derrick Omston (14)Steve Smith (19)
12.24Adrian Underwood (29)Mark Hughes (17)Alan Bond (15)Peter Smith (TBC)
12.32Kelvin Paterson (23)Andrew Jenner (17)Andrew Burnett (16)Rob Montagu (35)
12.40Kevin Leftley (21)Nigel Caulfield-Brown (36)James Gallifant (28)Will Lunn (36)
12.48Frank Goulding (28)Joe Carroll (32)Tony Willmott (19)Phil Taylor (15)

We look forward to seeing you all on Thursday.