Cooden draw


Cooden Beach Golf Club’s course measures a good 6,504 yards at its furthest, it offers a more sedate 6,185 yards from the yellow tee boxes, with five par three holes and a matching five par fives. It provides an easy walk round with the gentle undulations and springy turf making play enjoyable for all ages. Natural drainage is provided by internal and external dykes that border many of the holes but these also act as a magnet to the errant shot that flirts with the changing coastal breezes which remain the true hazard.

Venue:            Cooden Beach
Golf Club
Cooden Sea Road
Bexhill On Sea
East Sussex
TN39 4TR

T: 01424 842040



Time: 11.30 for 12.30pm first tee off

Format:            Tea/coffee + bacon rolls on arrival. Two course meal to finish

Dress Code       Smart casual for the meal please.

A good turnout of 17 including a warm welcome back to Malcolm Staplehurst one of the founding society members:

Anniversary Trophy

This is a prestigious society event and the first individual silverware up for grabs this year.  This is a 18 hole stableford competition off full society handicaps.  As this is a trophy event all players must putt out (sorry no gimmies not even if hanging over the edge).

Team Competition

The usual best 2 stableford scores from the teams of 3 count for this competition.  The usual adjustment being made for the fourball(s).

Nearest the Rope (Straightness rather than Distance)

The 18hHole

Nearest the Pin (Accuracy)

The 12thHole

Tee times start at 12.30 prompt - please be at the tee and ready to go 5 mins before your tee off time.  In addition, and based on feedback from the membership as a whole each group is respectfully requested to keep up with the team in front and not aim to be just ahead of the group behind - Please do avoid slow play at all times – we as a society should aim to complete our rounds comfortably within 4 hours – back in and having a shower / pint or in the case of Tips both at the same time by 5pm.


Order of play

The defending champion is Micky Mann 39 points was the winning score last year. Ideally, we could have done with one more player to give us a full complement of threeballs. All subject to alteration as usual the initial draw is as follows:-

Tee-time Player 1 Player 2 Player 3  

Player 4

12.30 Brian Day 24 Carl Valentine 10 Micky Mann 15  
12.36 Kelvin Paterson 22 Dereck Coppard 19 Jerry Watkiss 14  
12.42 Mark Hughes 16 Andrew Burnett 20 John Collingwood 28  
12.48 Paul Hillman 21 Alan Bigley 6 Malc Staplehurst 13 (TBC) Alan Bond 16
12.54 Andy Tippett 23 Tony Batchelder 26 Ken Wapling 24 James Galifant 28


We look forward to seeing you on Friday for a fantastic afternoons golf. The weather forecast for Friday is currently good with a light breeze, dry but cloudy.