Mannings Heath

GBH Trophy – Order of Play – October 2018 – Nevill GC

We look forward to seeing you at Mannings Heath on Friday details below:-

Established in 1905, the 6683-yard championship 18-hole Waterfall course at Mannings Heath, is known as one of the top golf courses in Sussex. Designed by the legendary architect Harry Colt, the Waterfall holds a proud golfing heritage and remains one of the most famous golf courses in the United Kingdom. The great Seve Ballesteros drew huge crowds to Mannings Heath when he played a Pro-Am here in 1987. And Gary Player named the 11th hole, known as The Valley in his top imaginary 18 holes of the world. The Waterfall is a scenic and challenging course that demands accuracy from the tee and presents a fair test of nerve and skill for every calibre of golfer.

Venue:     Mannings Heath Golf & Wine Estate,
Hammerpond Road,
Mannings Heath,
West Sussex,
RH13 6PG Phone: 0871 873 3388
  • Time:    11.00 for 12.00mid-day tee off
  • Format:  Tea/coffee + bacon rolls on arrival one course eve meal (5pm ish)
  • Dress Code Smart casual for the late afternoon meal please.

A reasonable turnout despite the less than excellent weather forecast – 14 players will be competing for the GBH Trophy currently held by Alan Bigley & Pat Layen.


GBH Trophy – This is a pairs competition.

Each team will play as a pair and record the best stableford score for that pair on each hole i.e. Player 1 scores 2 stableford points and the other 3 stableford points on a hole- the team score is the highest of the two so 3 stableford points count towards the GBH competition.

In addition, a “joker” is available for each player that can be played on one hole, and one hole only.  Before teeing off the player should inform his playing partners that they will be playing their joker on this hole.  That players then scores doubled for that one hole. Please mark the card to show where each joker was used.

Individual Stableford Competition

In addition please could each member record their own individual stableford score – which will be entered in to the player of the year competition and may also win a prize as the Best Individual Stableford score for the day (off full society handicaps).

Longest Drive


Nearest the Pin


Order of play

Tee times start at 11.00am.

So, Friday’s provisional order of play (subject to change) is as follows: –

Tee Team HCP Team HCP
12.00 Micky Mann & Carl Valentine 10 & 18 Spare
12.08 David Howroyd & Pat Layen 22 & 18 Andrew Burnett & Kevin Hawkins 16 & 13
12.15 Jerry Watkiss & Tom Bennett 15 & 22 Chris Buck & Alan Bigley 20 & 7
12.22 James Galifant & Sandi Hoolahan 28 & 20 John Collingwood & Frank Goulding 22 & 28


We look forward to seeing you on Friday – please note the numbers are even so please do shout as early as possible should you not be able to make it.