Last chance results


Dereck Coppard wins the LAST CHANCE TROPHY at Dewlands Manor in December 2016

We had great weather for our Christmas fun day/ event at Dewlands Manor on the 16th December.  A very good turnout with 25 players playing golf and 26 sitting down for Christmas lunch.

Four competitions with the winners shown below:-

Texas Scramble (Front 9) – This competition was very competitive with Pat Layen, Paul Hillman , Greig Wapling & Brian Day winning the event – The full results are set out below:-

Place Team Score
1st Pat Layen (18), Paul Hillman (19), Greig Wapling (21) & Brian Day (24) -2
=2nd Tom Bennett (18), Dereck Coppard (19), Andy Bishop (25) & Andy Tippett (24) -1
=2nd Jerry Watkiss (16), Alan Bond (18) & Peter Cudmore (22) -1
=2nd Keith Wapling (18), David Howroyd (18),  Kelvin Paterson (24) & Ray Hamilton (24) -1
5th Micky Mann (13), Chris Buck (19) & Ken Wapling (26) Level
6th Mark Hughes (11), Clive Butler (22) &Tim Gorringe (21) +1
7th Guy Bristow (11), Fred Ablitt (22), Brian Cheesmur (28) & Frank Goulding (24) +2


Texas Scramble winners: Brian Day, Paul Hillman, Pat Layen and Greig Wapling


Last Chance Trophy (Back 9) – An individual stableford competition off full society handicaps.  The reigning champion Mr Ray Hamilton attended to defend his title.  The winner was Mr Dereck Coppard who played very well indeed by all accounts:-

Place Player Score
1st Dereck Coppard 22
2nd Clive Butler 21
=3rd Andy Tippett 20
=3rd Micky Mann 20


Last Chance Trophy winner: Dereck Coppard


Longest Drive: 18th hole – Won by Mr Jerry Watkiss

Longest drive winner: Jerry Watkiss

Nearest the Pin: 15th hole – Won by Mr Pat Layen

Nearest the Pin winner: Pat Layen



A superb Christmas lunch followed in the Middle House with a nice glass of wine.  The AGM followed with reports submitted to the membership from the Hon Sec, Club Captain, Treasurer & Handicap Sec.  The following committee appointments were then approved by the membership for the 2017 season:-

Club Captain: Mr Jerry Watkiss

Hon Secretary: Mr David Howroyd

Hon Handicap Secretary: Mr Micky Mann

Hon Treasurer: Mr Andy Tippett

Club Vice Captain: Mr Clive Butler

Tour organisers: Mr Tim Gorringe & Mr Andy Tippett

The Player of the Year goes to the player with the best four scores in the year and was awarded to Mr Michael Mann at the AGM:-

Player Best 4 rounds total
MANN, Michael 154
WATKISS, Jerry 150
HOWROYD, David 145
COPPARD, Derek 141
CUDMORE, Peter 140
HUGHES, Mark 138
BOND, Alan 138
BUTLER, Clive 136
PATERSON, Kelvin 134
WAPLING, Ken 133
DAY,  Brian 130
CHEESMUR, Brian 127
LAYEN, Pat 121
STOCKER, Dave 119
TIPPETT, Andy 115

Player of the Year: Our Hon Handicap Secretary, Mr Michael Mann



The winners for 2016 were as follows:-

Trophy Winner(s)
Golfer of the Year Michael Mann
Society Strokeplay Championship Mark Hughes
Society Stableford Competition Frank Goulding
Captain’s Day Trophy Jerry Watkiss
Anniversary Trophy Tom Bennett
Autumn Cup Barry Browning
Spring Cup Jerry Watkiss
Mad March Jugs Jerry Watkiss & Dereck Coppard
GBH Trophy Alan Bond & Michael Mann
Last Chance Trophy Dereck Coppard