Graham Smith holds off defending champion Rod Lunn and Phil Taylor to win the Anniversary Trophy


The Nevill course was in very good condition with the greens a little quicker than most players had seen this year.  We had an excellent turnout of 24 members with the pace of play being very good. Unfortunately, we had an injury on the first 9 holes with James Harding unable to continue for the second nine holes.  

Would the MGS European Tour champion return to his own course and turn the competition in to a just a battle for second place continuing his good form.  The answer was a clear No!

Anniversary Trophy

The average stableford score for the day was 30.83 with the defending champion making four birdies on his valiant attempt to retain the trophy.  However, Graham Smith built on the 17 points amassed on the front line with a brilliant 20 points on the back 9 to win by one shot on 37 points (just 3 over par on the challenging back 9).  This event was played off full society handicaps with all players “putting out” this being a silverware event: –

WinnerGraham Smith37
SecondPhil Taylor36 (B9CB 19)
ThirdRod Lunn36 (B9CB 18)

Team Competition 

The best two scores from three counted with one team winning by a good margin – see below. 

WinnersChris Buck, Phil Taylor & Rod Lunn85
SecondStuart Bourne, Rob Weaver & Alan Bigley82
ThirdTony Willmott, Mark Hughes & Will Lunn80

Nearest the Pin (12th Hole 150 yards).   

A cracking shot from Graham Smith, getting inside good shots from Chris Buck and Graham Meadows to win this one.  Unfortunately, a solid par rather than birdie was made.

Nearest the Pin in Two (8th Hole 356 yards).   

A superb second by Andrew Jenner to three feet and then making the birdie made this hole look easy.



Fifteen birdies were achieved on the day (the biggest number at one event for some while) –

PlayerHole ScoreYards & Stroke index
Rod Lunn2nd4 on the par 5531 yds SI 13
Graham Smith2nd4 on the par 5531 yds SI 13
Andy Williams4th2 on the par 3169 yds SI 15
Rod Lunn6th2 on the par 3179 yds SI 11
John Miller6th2 on the par 3179 yds SI 11
Rod Lunn8th3 on the par 4356 yds SI 7
Andrew Jenner8th3 on the par 4356 yds SI 7
John Miller10th   4 on the par 5477 yds SI 18
Phil Taylor12th2 on the par 3150 yds SI16
Alan Bigley12th2 on the par 3150 yds SI16
Rob Weavers12th2 on the par 3150 yds SI16
Rod Lunn13th4 on the par 5453 yds SI 4
Stuart Bourne13th4 on the par 5453 yds SI 4
James Gallifant13th4 on the par 5453 yds SI 4
Andrew Burnett14th3 on the par 4397 yds SI 6

The societies next event is scheduled for THURSDAY 15th June at Nizels which is Captains Day with the Freddie Jones Foundation Trophy up for grabs. This will be a popular event so do get the date in your diary and let’s hope for some more great weather.


Past news