Order of Play – June 2018 – Cooden Beach GC

Society Strokeplay Championship & Society Stableford Championship

Cooden Beach Golf Club’s course was designed by W. Herbert Fowler and opened in 1912 and to this day remains an enjoyable yet challenging test to all categories of player. While the course measures a good 6,504 yards at its furthest, it offers a more sedate 6,185 yards from the yellow tee boxes, with five par three holes and a matching five par fives. It provides an easy walk round with the gentle undulations and springy turf making play enjoyable for all ages. Natural drainage is provided by internal and external dykes that border many of the holes but these also act as a magnet to the errant shot that flirts with the changing coastal breezes which remain the true hazard.

Venue: Cooden Beach Golf Club
Cooden Sea Road
Bexhill On Sea
East Sussex
TN39 4TR

T: 01424 842040
E: enquiries@coodenbeachgc.com


Time:               12 mid-day onwards for 1pm first tee off

Format:            Tea/coffee + bacon rolls on arrival. Two course meal to finish

Dress Code       Smart casual for the meal please.

A very good turnout of 23 players competing across five competitions as follows:

Society Strokeplay Championship

For those players playing off a society handicap of 18 or lessan 18-hole strokeplay competition off full society handicaps.

NB: Although not relevant for the day please also keep your stableford scoreas they will count towards the player of the year competition (best four stableford scores across the year)

Society Stableford Championship

For those players playing off a society handicap of 19 or morean 18 hole stableford competition off full society handicaps.

Team Competition

The usual best 2 stableford scores from the teams of 3 count for this competition.  The usual adjustment being made for the fourball(s).

Nearest the Line off the tee

The 18hHole

Nearest the Pin

The 12thHole

Tee times start at 1pm.  We have 23 confirmed players – please be at the tee and ready to go 5 mins before your tee off time.

In addition, each group is respectfully requested to keep up with the team in front and not aim to be just ahead of the group behind – Please avoid slow play at all times – we as a society aim as threeballs to complete our rounds comfortably within 4 hours.

Order of play

The defending champions Alan Bigley and Ken Wapling will lead the way on the two main competitions of the day:

Tee-time Competition Player 1 Player 2 Player 3  Player 4
1.00 Strokeplay Alan Bigley (10) Kevin Hawkins (12) Mark Hughes (15)  
1.06 Stableford KenWapling (25) David Howroyd (21) Andy Williams (19)  
1.12 Strokeplay Pat Layen (15) Micky Mann (13) Carl Valentine (9)
1.18 Stableford Chris Buck (20) James Galifant (28) Brian Day (24)  
1.24 Stableford Andy Bishop (27) Andy Tippett (23) Tony Batchelder (28)  
1.30 Strokeplay Jerry Watkiss (14) Kevin Leftley (15) Barry Browning (14) Tim Gorringe (18)
1.36 Stableford Kelvin Paterson (25) Tom Bennett (22) Chris Paterson (28)  


We look forward to seeing you on Friday for a fantastic afternoons golf. The weather forecast for Friday is currently good with a light breeze.