Anniversary trophy order of play


The Nevill golf course, established in 1914, was originally a nine hole course set down by Willy Park Junior (who designed Sunningdale Old Course amongst his 170 courses in Europe, the USA and Canada). When the course was extended some years later, James Braid was engaged to design the new holes and when he created the second, some 550 yards, it was considered to be one of the longest holes of any course in the area. Amongst Braid’s courses are Carnoustie and Ballybunion. Harry Colt worked with James Braid in the late 19th century and it is recorded that he spent time at the Nevill in 1926 working with Braid.

Throughout the second world war, part of the course was commandeered by the War Office and was released back to the Club with some compensation which was spent on redesigning and rebuilding the course. In 1965, Henry Cotton, who had won three Opens and had captained the Ryder Cup squad, was commissioned to redesign and extend the course. It is this layout that is the basis of the course that exists today.


Phone: 01892 532941

  • Time:               10am for 11am first tee off from the 10th tee
  • Format:           Tea/coffee + bacon rolls on arrival one course eve meal 
  • Dress Code      Smart casual for the meal please.

A good turnout of 24 players will competing for the Anniversary Cup currently held by Mr Rod Lunn with a winning score of 35 points.


Anniversary Trophy18-hole individual stableford competition off full society handicaps.  NB: As this is a trophy event please putt out – no gimmies – sorry.
TeamThe best 2 stableford scores from the teams of three count in this competition.
Nearest The PIN in Two 8th Hole
Nearest The Pin12th Hole

Order of play

TeePlayer 1Player 2Player 3
11.00Alan Bond (15)Graham Meadows (27)Andrew Burnett (16)
11.08Micky Mann (18)Rob Montagu (33)Andrew Jenner (17)
11.15Tony Willmott (21)Mark Hughes (19)Will Lunn (36)
11.23Andy Williams (16)James Gallifant (27)Joe Carroll (36)
11.30John Collingwood (28)John Miller (14)Jerry Watkiss (15)
11.38Rod Lunn (25)Phil Taylor (18)Chris Buck (19)
11.45Simon Luck (21)James Harding (15)Graham Smith (12)
11.53Stuart Bourne (15)Rob Weavers (29)Alan Bigley (4)


Past news