Anniversary Trophy – Order of Play – May 2022 – Nevill GC (Tunbridge Wells)

The Nevill golf course, established in 1914, was originally a nine hole course set down by Willy Park Junior (who designed Sunningdale Old Course amongst his 170 courses in Europe, the USA and Canada). When the course was extended some years later, James Braid was engaged to design the new holes and when he created the second, some 550 yards, it was considered to be one of the longest holes of any course in the area. Amongst Braid’s courses are Carnoustie and Ballybunion. Harry Colt worked with James Braid in the late 19th century and it is recorded that he spent time at the Nevill in 1926 working with Braid.

Throughout the second world war, part of the course was commandeered by the War Office and was released back to the Club with some compensation which was spent on redesigning and rebuilding the course. In 1965, Henry Cotton, who had won three Opens and had captained the Ryder Cup squad, was commissioned to redesign and extend the course. It is this layout that is the basis of the course that exists today.


Phone: 01892 532941

  • Time:               10.00am for 11 o’clock first tee off
  • Format:           Tea/coffee + bacon rolls on arrival one course eve meal (5pm ish) 
  • Dress Code      Smart casual for the meal please.

A good turnout of 20 players will competing for the Anniversary currently held by Mr Alan Bigley.


Anniversary Trophy18-hole individual stableford competition off full society handicaps.  NB: As this is a trophy event please putt out – no gimmies – sorry.
TeamThe best 3 stableford scores from the teams of four count in this competition.
Nearest The Pin12th Hole
Longest Drive2nd Hole

Order of play

A warm welcome to Stuart for his first outing as an MGS Society member.  Provisional Order of Play is set out below – albeit as always subject to change.

TeePlayer 1Player 2Player 3Player 4
11.00Stuart Bourne (12)John Miller (17)Jerry Watkiss (13)Micky Mann (17)
11.08John Torpey (14) guestJoe Carroll (33)Brian Cooke (19)Mark Hughes (14)
11.15Steve Smith (20)Alan Bigley (6)Rob Montagu (30)Alan Bond (18)
11.23Rod Lunn (20)Nigel Burnett (28) Andrew Burnett (17)Andy Williams (19)
11.30Andy Tippett (22)Graham Meadows (25)Carl Valentine (11)Frank Goulding (27)