Alan Bond retains the GBH Trophy this year supported by Micky Mann (previously 2015 by Andy Bishop)

A thank you to Honourable Sec Howroyd for getting this day organised on his home course.  The society welcomed Peter Suggs and Tony Batchelder back in to the fold who had not attended a meeting for a little while.  The society found the course a tough challenge with the average score being just 28.79 our lowest average of the 2016 season. The course was in very good condition and the weather was cold but pleasant for a November meeting. Sixteen players battled it out for the GBH pairs trophy which is a pairs Stableford better ball competition with the pairs being drawn out of the hat the day before the event.  The results were as follows:-

GBH Trophy

Lots of strong pairings fought hard for the trophy which was won by Bond & Mann.

Place Team Members Score
Winners Alan Bond & Micky Mann 43
Second Carl Valentine & Clive Butler 39
Third Peter Cudmore & Tony Batchelder 38



Winners of the GBH Trophy 2016: Michael Mann and Alan Bond



Winner of individual stable ford: Alan Bond


The longest Drive competition was replaced by a nearest the line competition – what helped many players was the fact the line could not be seen from the tee!!

Winner Nearest the Line (Hole 13th):  Clive Butler


Winner Nearest the Pin (Hole 7th):  Mark Hughes


A secondary individual stableford competition was held and not surprisingly Bond and Mann both fared well !!

Individual Stableford

Place Individual Score
Winner Alan Bond 35
Second Micky Mann 34
= Third Carl Valentine, Clive Butler, Peter Cudmore, Dereck Coppard 31


The final game of the year will be held at Dewlands Manor on the 16th December followed by our Christmas Lunch and AGM.  Details have already been circulated by the Hon Sec – I am sure we have room for a couple more players if you get your name down quickly – it should be a cracker!